Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

On The Record

Posted online

Jerry L. Hunt, agent for the Morris Agency in Springfield, has been selected from 1,100 agents nationwide as Kansas City Life Insurance Company's 1997 Sales Leader of the Year for the Midwest Region. This award is issued to Kansas City Life agents who have demonstrated consistent success throughout the year.

Jeremy Stephenson, technology technician for JMARK Systems Inc., has been named the company's first Employee of the Month. Stephenson was chosen by the vote of his peers.

Joe Jenkins, of Jenkins Diesel Power in Springfield, was recently honored for his services to the University of Missouri. Jenkins has served as a member of Missouri Citizens for Agricultural Research, Teaching and Extension, and is a past chairman of the county extension council.

J. Doyle Jones, of Springfield, and Lyndon Irwin, of Bois D'Arc, were recently added to the University of Missouri Leaders Honor Roll for their services to extension programs. Jones, a retired regional director for extension, just finished a term as chairman of the University of Missouri Extension Council of Greene County. Irwin, an SMSU professor, was recently re-elected to the council and will serve as vice chairman for 1998.

Ethel Curbow received several state, local and international awards at the 1998 National Business Conference of Coldwell Banker Vanguard, Realtors. Internationally, she was eighth out of 78,000 agents for total units closed. In the Midwest region, Curbow was second for both listings sold and total units closed; she received sixth in the Midwest Region for buyer-controlled sales; and she was 10th in the region for total gross commission income. Curbow was also named the No. 1 agent in the state of Missouri.

Several local driving professionals were honored at the 51st annual Missouri Motor Carriers Association Safety Awards Banquet in February. Robert Craker, of Roadway Express, from Walnut Grove, was named Driver of the Month for September 1997. Al Mobley, of Dairy Farmers of America, from Springfield, was awarded the Distinguished Safety Director of the Year for his leadership in safety-related programs designed for the trucking industry. Erickson Transport Corporation, of Springfield, and D & D Sexton Inc., of Carthage, both received honorable mention in the category of Over the Road, One to Five Million Miles. The winner in this category was Transport Distribution Inc., of Joplin.

University of Missouri Extension Council of Greene County has elected officers and chosen new board members for 1998. Officers include: John Domeny, of Rogersville, chairman; Dr. Lyndon Irwin, of Bois D'Arc, vice chairman; Jean Wilder, of Springfield, secretary; and John Brockschmidt, of Springfield, treasurer. Newly elected members include: Dr. George Abshier, Dennis Grisham, Ronald Martin and Dr. Dennis Schmidt, all of Springfield; Dr. Randy Humphrey, Lisa Johnson and Jean Ryan, all of Willard; Aaron Owen, of Brookline; and Don Sissel, of Republic.

The employees of the Empire District Electric Company have been recognized by the Safety Council of the Ozarks for Outstanding Performance, Most Improved Workplace Safety. This award is based on the reduction of the lost-work-days, injury-and-illness incident rate. From a four-year average of 3.89, based on data from 1993 to 1996, they brought the incident rate down to 1.67 in 1997.

Yolanda Lorge, of Springfield, has been appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Missouri Senate to serve on the Advisory Commission for Clinical Perfusionists.

Allan Blanchard, copier technician at Robinett Business Systems, attended and successfully completed Minolta Corporation's intense training seminar on the 6001 and 8015 copiers.

Bruce Ford, of Robinett Business Systems, attended Neopost's mailing/shipping equipment training seminar. Ford was recently promoted to mailing technician at Robinett.

O&S Trucking Inc., of Springfield, has been awarded the 1997 Grand Prize for the "National Fleet Safety Award," sponsored by the Truckload Carriers Association. The award represents the "best of the best" in the categories of safety-program organization, training, driver and independent contractor selection, supervision, accident investigation, inspection and maintenance of equipment, and outside activities and general highway safety.

TELEC Inc., a locally owned and operated telecommunications company, is now an authorized agent for Southwestern Bell. TELEC is authorized to sell Southwestern Bell products and services, including custom network services, ISDN BRI/PRI, MaxiMizer 800 service, Digital PBX trunk and more.

Sean Campbell, controller for Axiom Partners Payroll Network, has passed the certified public accountant exam. According to an Axiom release, only 30 percent to 35 percent of those who take the CPA exam earn a passing score of 75 or above.

Ronda Credille, Southwest Baptist University instructor of business administration, has been named outstanding local advisor in Missouri Phi Beta Lambda, a non-profit education association of student members preparing for careers in business. She has been teaching at SBU since 1990.

Faunlee Harle, of Coldwell Banker Vanguard, Realtors, has been chosen as one of the company's International President's Elite, an honor given to only the top 1 percent of the more than 78,000 Coldwell Banker sales associates in North America.

Gene Ghiurca, lease operator at Prime Inc., has received a check in the amount of $8,336 for the successful completion of his truck lease. During his three-year lease period in Prime's flatbed division, Ghiurca averaged 2,559 miles per week at a fuel cost of 19 cents per mile.

Earl Slavens, a certified pedorthist who operates the Pedorthic Center in Springfield, has been elected to the industry advisory committee for the pedorthic footwear technology program at Oklahoma State University. The committee provides advice, direction and support to the technical programs under the small business occupations department at USO.

Marty Meyer, a AAA Life Specialist in AAA's Springfield office, has been named the 1997 Insurance and Investment Agent of the Year. Meyer, who has been a life specialist since 1995, topped all AAA life specialists in the club's western division with her outstanding sales in 1997.

Veldeana Cloven, with Coldwell Banker in Springfield, has been awarded the real estate innovator designation by Realty Electronics Publishing. The REI designation is given to a select group of real estate professionals who offer extraordinary service to home sellers. Cloven is one of approximately 10,000 agents nationwide who have been awarded the designation.

Robinett Business Systems has announced the following award winners for the month of March: Bob Hancock, Copier Salesperson of the Month; Larry Blaha, Mailing Salesperson of the Month; Roger Crouch, Service Employee of the Month; and Becky Campbell, Employee of the Month.

[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: Rebar Kitchen & Taproom

A pair of food industry veterans teamed up to open Rebar Kitchen & Taproom; May 2 marked the grand opening for the new headquarters of 27North Inc.; and the first brick-and-mortar shop for Springfield Trading Co. launched.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences