Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

On The Record

Posted online

George Hudson, of Prime Inc., received Lamb-Weston's Service Appreciation Award for his record of having the most on-time pickup and delivery-performance miles. Lamb-Weston considered all drivers from all transport companies employed by Lamb-Weston. Hudson was awarded a plaque and a care package to make his travels easier.

LHP Transportation Services Inc. was named a top 100 minority-owned business by "Minority Business News USA" magazine. LHP was ranked No. 60 on a list of all ethnic minority backgrounds, nominated by major corporations, and ranked by gross revenues.

Lee Hampton, president of LHP, was individually recognized by James Abbott, executive director of the Minority Supplier Council.

Randall G. Moots, CPA, attended the 1998 American Institute of Certified Public Accountants in Minnesota. The national conference is designed to further knowledge of CPAs and state society administrators and technical reviewers in the changing field of peer review of CPA firms.

Burt Steinberg, president of American Rod & Gun, was elected vice chairman of the American Sportfishing Association. Steinberg will assume the position of chair in the year 2000.

The Writer's Hall of Fame has selected its new board members for 1998-99. Among the officers selected are Jim Hamilton, president; Paul Johns, vice president; Rick Imhoff, treasurer; and Dan Sheidel, secretary. The new members of the board include Cathy Wilson, Topper Glass, Mary Lou Gilbert, Greg Brekel, Linda Benson, Paul Flemming, Lorraine Sandstrom, Sherry McCall, and Karen Malone.

The Home Builders Association of Greater Springfield honored long-time member Don Stewart with honorary life membership in the association. Stewart has served on many of the association's committees and has served as a member of the board of directors.

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks has selected its new board of directors. Among the new members are James R. Bucholz, chairman; William R. Hardie, chairman-elect; Mary Beth O'Reilly, treasurer; Katy Tynes, secretary; Dr. Arthur Mallory, at-large member of the executive committee; Joyce Blades, committee member; Marie Prater, committee member; and Dr. Roger Ray, committee member.

Gary Ellison, owner of Gary Ellison Productions, was honored by the Sertoma Club of Springfield with the club's Service To Mankind award for his many contributions to the community over the years.

The Sertoma Club of Springfield has selected its new club officers. They include Randy Carpenter, president; Gary Morris, president-elect; Brian Heppner, vice president; Todd Brierly, secretary/treasurer; Randy Carpenter, bulletin editor; Bob Meek, sergeant-at-arms; and Casey Funkhouser, assistant sergeant-at-arms.

Pam Carroll and Linda Williamson, of Wickman Gardens, recently competed in the Missouri State Florists' Association's Annual Convention, held in Columbia. Carroll placed first in the category of Hospital Floral Design and Williamson finished third in the Nature Theme Design Competition.

Kay Addington, affiliated with H.D. Vest Financial Services, has been recognized

by Kemper Distributors for her superior service as a financial advisor. This recognition allowed her to attend an exclusive two-day program in Chicago that recognizes and supports advisors who have a record of outstanding service.

Scott E. Bonacker, CPA, of McCullough, Officer & Company LLC, attended "Avoiding Taxes on Entrepreneurship: Tips for the Self-Employed." This seminar, sponsored by the Missouri Society of CPAs, covered areas of aggressive tax planning.

The Urban Districts Alliance has selected its new board of directors. The new officers include James B. Anderson, president; Dr. Jim Baker, president-elect; Jim Stout, treasurer; Jan Horton, secretary; and Brian Fogle, past president.

The Urban Districts Alliance has selected its new board members. Among the new members are Norb Bagley, Rob Baird, Sister Loraine Biebel, Dr. David Belcher, Nancy Brown, Mary Collette, Dave Coonrod, Tom Finnie, Bernie Griffin, Mark Harrell, Bob Horton, David Knight, Lincoln Knauer, Samuel Knox, Matt Miller, Dr. John Moore, Dr. Norman Myers, Ann Nelms, John Owens, Paula Ringer, Janice Stockham, Jim Stout, Akis Tsolakis and Shelia Wright. Lance T. Brown is executive director and Barb Barker coordinates marketing and events.

The Council for Urban and Economic Development presented its Export Trade Award to the Missouri Office of International Marketing. This national award, sponsored by "Export Today Magazine," recognizes achievement in promoting economic growth through exports.

[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Workforce hurdles, culture investments earn attention at manufacturing conference

Missouri Association of Manufacturers event sets record in third year.

Most Read Poll
What kind of housing does Springfield need more of?


View results

Update cookies preferences