Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

On The Record

Posted online

Prime Inc. present a check for $6,946 to Charles Reed for the completion of his truck lease through Prime's Success Leasing program. Reed has begun his second consecutive three-year lease program at Prime.

Larry Jansen, CIC, of Man-Morris Insurors Inc., has completed the seventh level of his certified property casualty underwriter designation. "The Legal Environment of Insurance" focused on the legal system of the United States, and how insurance responds to various legal concepts and regulations.

Sheryl Jenkins, of Jenkins Studio, was chosen, from national competition, to be published in "Print's Best Letterheads & Business Cards." This publication showcases top design work, such as the logo for Stormy Weather Press that Jenkins designed.

Anthony D. Lynn, CPA, was selected to speak at the 1998 American Institute of Certified Public Accountants in Minnesota. The national conference is designed to further knowledge of CPAs and state society administrators and technical reviewers in the changing field of peer review of CPA firms.

Prime Inc. presented a check for $17,904 to Christopher Haynes for the completion of his three-year truck lease through Prime's Success Leasing program. Haynes has begun his third consecutive three-year lease with Prime.

Prime Inc. presented a check for $13,748 to Deborah Winfred for the completion of her three-year lease through Prime's Success Leasing program. Winfred has begun her second consecutive three-year lease with Prime.

Prime Inc. presented a check for $6,049 to Brian McClane for the completion of his three-year truck lease through Prime's Success Leasing program. McClane has started his new contract for a three-year truck lease.

Several national directors from the Springfield Home Builders Association were in attendance at the recent National Association of Home Builders conference in Seattle. Louise Henson, executive officer of the Springfield association; Roy Bright, of Roy Bright Construction; and Sam Bradley, of Sam Bradley Homes, were among the several thousand members across the country to attend.

Wes Summers, of Great Southern Insurance, has completed the requirements for the certified insurance counselors designation. Summers works as a commercial account executive with the Great Southern Agency in Springfield. He graduated from Drury College with a degree in business administration and economics in 1995 and received his MBA from Drury in 1997.

Branson attorney Nolen Berry presented a seminar on entertainment law to 700 members of the Missouri Bar Association at their annual meeting. Berry's seminar focused on contracts, licensing and litigation in the music business.

Donald R. Duncan, a Springfield attorney, has been presented the Purcell Professionalism Award in honor of his outstanding professionalism as a Missouri lawyer.

Carol J. Miller, a Springfield attorney, received the W. Oliver Rasch Award. This annual award from the Missouri Bar Association recognizes the author of an outstanding article appearing in the Journal of the Missouri Bar.

Russell Caldwell, owner of Caldwell Construction Inc., has received the Certified Graduate Builder designation from the Home Builders Institute. To be certified, a builder must successfully complete a course of study prescribed by the institute. Also considered in the certification process is the number of years the applicant has been in business.

Bob Simpson, director of the work force development department, has been elected president of Training and Employment Administrators of Missouri (TEAM) which administers Job Training Partnership Act funds to 15 service delivery areas to establish programs for youth and economically-challenged adults for the job force.

A four-member official delegation represented the Springfield Association of Life Underwriters at the Association of Life Underwriters' annual convention in Cincinnati. The panel members included Dennis "Bud" Page, president; Jim Young, national committeeman; Roy Kern, board member; and David Haymes, membership committee chairperson.

Dennis "Bud" Page has been elected president of the Life Underwriters Association of Springfield. Other new officers include Danny O'Neal, president-elect; David Staut, first vice president; Brent Childress, secretary/treasurer; Jim Young, national committeeman; and Bill Yocum, immediate past president.

Dr. Barbara Ann Bumberry received the degree of Fellow of the American Academy of Family Physicians. The degree was awarded to 1,000 family physicians nationwide.

Prime Inc. honored several operators with the Prime Time Certified Award. Clarence and Gladys Cobb, and Rickey Ramsey were recognized for six years of continuous service while James Bouland, Stella Cook, and Kirpal Singh reached their five-year mark. Daryl Curl achieved four years of service, while Judy and Thomas Baker, Barbara Jasper, James Mahoney, Bente Simerman, and Jack Welch attained the three-year level.

The Missouri Motor Carriers Association elected officers to lead the association during the 1998-99 year. Among the new members are Glenn Walker, of Springfield; Spook Whitener, Springfield; and Dick Sitton, Joplin. The association's Logistics Scholarship recipient is Aaron Ellis, of Springfield.

College of the Ozarks' Sherman Henry received the Governor's Excellence in Teaching award for challenging students to reach their maximum potential. Each year, colleges and universities in Missouri nominate faculty members, board members, or administrators for this honor.

Anthony D. Lynn, CPA, attended "Profession in Transition: The AICPA Forum on Competing in a Changing Marketplace." This forum is designed to help firms understand the realities posed by the acquisitions of firms in the accounting profession and to provide reliable information so firms can position themselves to succeed.

Three Missouri attorneys were honored as "Senior Counselors" of The Missouri Bar. They are Kenneth A. Reid, Robert E. Sharp, and George R. Wilhoit Jr. The title of "Senior Counselor" is bestowed upon attorneys who have reached the age of 75 or have been members of The Missouri Bar for 50 years.

D. Christian Wise, a Springfield attorney, was awarded the Pro Bono Publico Award for providing outstanding pro bono service to indigent or low-income persons in need of legal assistance.

KYTV was is a recipient of The Missouri Bar's Excellence in Legal Journalism Award. This award is bestowed by the board of governors of The Missouri Bar in recognition of outstanding work by the print and broadcast media in covering legal issues.

Dr. James Blaine, a primary care physician with Smith-Glynn-Callaway Clinic, has received the Liberty Bell Award. This annual award is presented by the Young Lawyers' Section of The Missouri Bar to a non-lawyer, civic or charitable group that has improved the justice system.

Missouri has been recognized as the first state to send official trade delegation to Ghana, which is regarded as a potential springboard into an emerging African market. In addition, a public/private partnership was formed between the U.S. Department of Commerce with leadership of Gov. Mel Carnahan. The partnership has been challenged to raise Missouri's exports to $10 billion by the year 2000.

[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: Rebar Kitchen & Taproom

A pair of food industry veterans teamed up to open Rebar Kitchen & Taproom; May 2 marked the grand opening for the new headquarters of 27North Inc.; and the first brick-and-mortar shop for Springfield Trading Co. launched.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences