Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe


Posted online
Accountant Travis Walker of Hlavacek, Morris, McIntyre, Yates & Danielson PC received the Accredited in Business Valuations Credential by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. Walker has four years of accounting experience.

Chris Phillips, human resources director at Missouri Neon, was elected president of the Missouri Division of the International Association of Administrative Professionals, and Theresa Brown, sales assistant at Empire Bank Investor Services, was elected treasurer of the statewide group.

Early American Life magazine selected Matt Rushing of Pine Hill Primitives for its 25th annual Directory of Traditional American Crafts and ranked the cabinet- and chair-maker’s work in the top of his field in the Windsor furniture category.


Cathy Smith was promoted to assistant vice president, corporate secretary for Empire Bank. Smith has worked at Empire Bank for more than 30 years in various positions including purchasing agent, human resource assistant, and payroll and accounting clerk.

Marcy Dollens was hired as branch manager for Arvest Bank. Dollens has more than 20 years of sales experience and seven years in banking.

Arvest Bank promoted Trish Collins to assistant branch manager from financial services representative. Collins has five years of banking experience.


During its annual convention, the Missouri Broadcasters Association awarded KSMU, the local National Public Radio affiliate at Missouri State University, first place in the documentary/public affairs category for its program, “Bone Marrow Registry,” and first place in the news series category for its program, “Dairy Farmers Implore Government for Relief.”

Ozarks Public Television received awards of merit in children’s programming for its show, “PIRC Library Initiative,” and in special programs for its show “Seeds of Success: The Legacy of George Washington Carver.”


Neal Lopinot, director and research associate professor for the Center for Archaeological Research at MSU, received $320,000 to help fund an archaeological survey of the area near Lake Wappapello in southeastern Missouri.

Ye Wang, MSU assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders, received a $25,632 grant from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to help sustain an online forum and community of practice for school districts and approved private agencies in Missouri for elementary and secondary students who are deaf. Wang also received an $8,546 DESE grant to help review and update previously developed Web-based courses for reading and the hearing impaired.

Health Care
Jordan Valley Community Health Center earned the Gold Seal of Approval from the Joint Commission for offering quality health care to its patients.

Doubletree Hotel-Springfield was awarded Doubletree’s national CARE Cup Award for customer service, hotel brand, amenities and overall experience.

The Junior League of Springfield elected its 2010–11 executive board: Lynn Tynes, president; Brooke O’Reilly, president-elect; Angie Blevins, vice president of communications; Katie Moore, vice president of community; Terrie Reno, vice president of finance; Liz Conner, vice president of membership; and Shelley Todd, recording secretary.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
From the Ground Up: Ozark School District indoor activities center

On track to be open for the 2024-25 school year, an Ozark High School activities center is under construction near Tiger Stadium.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences