Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: March 9-15, 2020

Posted online

Springfield Public Schools promoted Nicole Holt to deputy superintendent of academics, effective July 1. Currently, she’s director of learning development, providing professional growth opportunities for SPS educators and leaders. In the new role, Holt will assume responsibilities over all academic departments currently held by Stephen Kleinsmith and Kent Medlin, the district’s outgoing interim co-deputy superintendents of academics.

SPS appointed four principals for the 2020-21 school year: Kara Boehmer for Holland Elementary School; Melissa Agnew for Pittman Elementary; Brad Owings for Robberson Community School; and Joanna Clark for Watkins Elementary. Currently, Boehmer is principal at Portland Elementary; Agnew is the learning coach at Pittman Elementary; Owings is principal at Poplar Bluff Middle School; and Clark is assistant principal at Sherwood Elementary.

Future Business Leaders of America students at Ozark High School received 32 medals in 26 events at the District Leadership Conference at Missouri State University. Ozark had 14 students qualify for state and 14 other students recognized as top finishers.

Myleah Shrimpton, director of claims for Ollis/Akers/Arney, was appointed to the Missouri Hospital Association Patient and Family Advisory Council. The council focuses on increasing the role of patients and family members to improve health care delivery, outcomes and joy in work through improved patient-provider relationships.

The city of Nixa was awarded the Certificate of Achievement for Excellence in Financial Reporting by the Government Finance Officers Association for the fourth year in a row. The certificate is the highest form of recognition in the area of governmental accounting and financial reporting. Nixa was recognized for its 2018 Comprehensive Annual Financial Report.

City Utilities of Springfield Transit Driver Larry Grube was named the 2019 Driver of the Year. The 11-year CU driver also received the award in 2014.

The Foundation Board for the Springfield-Greene County Library District announced six new board members: Tim Baltes, human resources manager at Positronic Industries Inc.; Olivia Cole, senior accountant at The Whitlock Co.; James Gorst, chief operations officer at Old Missouri Bank; Andrea McKinney, wealth management adviser at Central Trust Co.; and Sarah Muegge and Ginger Jones, community volunteers.

Ozarks Water Watch added Cathy Stepp as executive director. She succeeds David Casaletto, who remains president. Stepp has 20 years of public service experience dealing with environmental issues, most recently as the regional administrator for U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region 5, and also was a Wisconsin state senator 2003-07.

Laura Farmer, executive director at Court Appointed Special Advocates of Southwest Missouri, was selected among 18 leaders nationwide to serve on the Urban Leadership Council for National CASA. The council works to address strategic issues impacting local CASA programs and the future development and growth of the network.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Ongoing airport investments top $50M, officials say

General aviation terminal expansion is set to wrap by August.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences