Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe
Hurts Donut Co. — led by Kas Clegg, left, Scott Bussard and Tim Clegg — takes home the top honors.
SBJ photo by Wes Hamilton
Hurts Donut Co. — led by Kas Clegg, left, Scott Bussard and Tim Clegg — takes home the top honors.

Hurts Donut tops SBJ’s Dynamic Dozen

Posted online

After doubling in revenue every years since opening, Hurts Donut Co. ranked first on Springfield Business Journal’s 2018 Dynamic Dozen.

The Springfield-based doughnut chain topped 11 other fast-growing companies based on annual revenue and three-year percentage growth. Companies were honored last night during the Dynamic Dozen event held at The Old Glass Place downtown.

To win the top honor, Hurts Donut reported 2017 revenue of $20.6 million, representing three-year revenue growth of 457 percent.

Company co-founders Tim and Kas Clegg, as well as business partner Scott Bussard, were in Colorado Springs, Colorado, for a store opening and were unable to attend the event. They sent a video outside the new store to accept the award.

The Dynamic Dozen, listed with 2017 revenue and three-year growth, are:
1. Hurts Donut, $20.6 million, 457 percent
2. Little Sunshine’s Playhouse and Preschool Inc., $28.9 million, 145 percent
3. Bussell Building Inc., $28.4 million, 136 percent
4. OakStar Bancshares Inc., $38.5 million, 76 percent
5. Tomo Drug Testing, $8.5 million, 224 percent
6. Russell Cellular Inc., $318.3 million, 41 percent
7. Phoenix Home Care Inc., $73.5 million, 46 percent
8. O’Reilly Hospitality Management LLC, $71.9 million, 44 percent
9. GigSalad, $10.6 million, 152 percent
10. Andy’s Frozen Custard Inc., $31.8 million, 60 percent
11. CoxHealth, $4.3 billion, 14 percent
12. Keller Williams Greater Springfield, $20.3 million, 72 percent

Dynamic Dozen’s independent judges also chose Hurts Donut for the Judge’s Choice Award.

Additionally, SBJ honored five individuals, who were chosen by the judges.

They are:
    •    Top Executive Officer: Brian Weiler, Springfield-Branson National Airport;
    •    Top Financial Officer: Tammy Short, Ozark R-6 School District;
    •    Top Human Resources Professional: Andrew Hedgpeth, CoxHealth;
    •    Top Sales/Marketing Professional: Krystal Simon, Barnabas Foundation Inc.; and
    •    Employee of the Year: Lynn Coffey, Kickapoo High School.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Business Spotlight: Meet the Paleoartist

In 50 years creating dioramas for museums, Terry Chase has become an authority mixing art and science.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences