Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Springfield Tech Council revives technology awards, names finalists

Posted online

After a nearly three-year hiatus, the Springfield Tech Council is bringing back the Excellence in Technology Awards next month.

Members of the public submitted 110 nominations from which 43 finalists were selected by Springfield Tech Council board members and event committee members, said Emily Buckmaster, executive director of the technology industry association. An independent judging panel from a cross section of industries will select the winners among the categories, she added.

“We wanted to bring it back because this is in line with one of our pillars, which is to elevate and showcase the professional tech community,” Buckmaster said via email of the awards event.

The award categories and finalists are:
• Community Impact Award: Mostly Serious LLC, Jarad Johnson and Spencer Harris; CoxHealth, Dr. Shawn Usery; and TierOne, Richard Reding.
• Technology Executive of the Year: Michael Smith, Next Level Solutions; Tom Douglas, JMark; Richard Reding, TierOne; and Andrew Dierks, Pitt Technology Group LLC.
• Rising Star: Zach Bradshaw,; Jesse Thomas, Pitt Technology Group; Riley Grotenhuis, Midwestern Interactive LLC; and Ethan Zitting, Midwestern Interactive.
• Most Innovative Startup: WareHQ Labs, Ben Pomerenke.
• Solution Designer of the Year: Kris Buckingham, Heartland Business Systems LLC; Ken Ballard, Pitt Technology Group; and Emilie Barnes, TierOne.
• Best Technology Services Provider: Mostly Serious, Jarad Johnson and Spencer Harris; Jack Henry & Associates Inc., Rob Zelinka; TierOne, Richard Reding; and Pitt Technology Group, Kevin Waterland and Doug Pitt.
• Best IT Project Manager or Coordinator: Chelsea Begley, Mostly Serious; Natalie Beissel, FORVIS LLP; Kristen Petty, QCR Holdings Inc.; and Kim Roberts, CNH Reman LLC.
• Best Technician: Jon Ashbee, Bayada Home Health Care Inc.; Steve Russell, Pitt Technology Group; and Tyler Green, TierOne.
• Best IT Sales Person: Stephanie Kern, Losh Network Services; Logan Swank, Heartland Business Systems; and Steven Huxley, TierOne.
• Best Programmer, Analyst or Developer: Christopher Baunach, Apex Systems LLC; Jack Horst, CNH Reman; and Megan Blevins, Midwest Interactive.
• Best Graphic Artist: Scott House, Andy’s Frozen Custard; Matt Paasch, MLP Graphic Design LLC; and Michael Peacock, TierOne.
• IT Person of the Year - Small Business: Michael Cahill, SW Business Solutions; and Kurtis Keithley, Andy’s Frozen Custard.
• IT Person of the Year - Medium Business: Maranda Provance, Mostly Serious; and Chuck Lewis, Pitt Technology Group.
• IT Person of the Year - Large Business: Jason Mendez, Bayada; Simoriah Stogner, Jack Henry & Associates; and Mike Trantham, CoxHealth.

Winners and judges will be announced at the Excellence in Technology Awards, scheduled Nov. 10 at White River Conference Center.

Springfield Tech Council, an industry association for technology professionals, was formed in January 2021 through the merger of The Association of IT Professionals - Ozarks Chapter and The Mid America Technology Alliance, according to past Springfield Business Journal reporting.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Springfield’s Latter-day Saints members eagerly await temple

Nearest Mormon temple now in Bentonville.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences