Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Sept. 3-9, 2018

Posted online

Four staff accountants in BKD LLP’s southern Missouri practice earned their certified professional accountant designations: Lindsay Brown is a tax associate with a bachelor’s in accounting from Missouri State University; Tanner Courtney is an audit associate with a bachelor’s in accounting and a master of accountancy from MSU; Tori Cross is an audit associate with bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from the University of Missouri; and Abby Dyer is a tax associate with bachelor’s degrees in accounting and finance from Drury University.

Truman Elementary School special education teacher Jean Lawson was named one of seven finalists for the 2019 Missouri Teacher of the Year award by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. Lawson, a winner of the Missouri Regional Teacher of the Year and Springfield Teacher of the Year awards, has worked at Truman for 12 years.

Southwest Baptist University added 13 faculty members for the 2018-19 academic year. They are: nursing instructors Kimberly Burks, Kristi Burks, Camille Kochs and Tori O’Brien; Tim Chappell, assistant professor of mathematics; Julie DuVall, instructor of university studies; Benny Fong, assistant professor of graduate education and statistics; Daniel Garten, instructor of exercise science; Ryder King, instructor of business administration; Kevin Patterson, assistant professor and chairman of graduate studies in education; Elsy Shuford, instructor of Spanish; Renfang Taylor, assistant professor of biology; and Danielle West, assistant professor of chemistry.

The Springfield-Greene County Office of Emergency Management added Courtney Wharton as information technology network engineer. She has a bachelor’s in management information systems from the University of Illinois and has worked in IT for 10 years.

Joe Harris
of Harris Law LLC in Nixa was recognized by AI Magazine as Missouri’s top attorney in matrimonial and family law. The award is given to an attorney in each state who has established themselves through professionalism and excellence in service.

Epic Strategies LLC added Jenna Cole as marketing specialist. She previously worked for Scripps Media Inc. and has 16 years of business-to-business marketing experience.

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks added five members to its board of directors for 2019-20: Debra Shantz Hart, co-founder of Housing Plus LLC and former chair of the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce board; Megan Morris, foundation and philanthropy adviser for Bass Pro Shops Outdoor World and previous member of CFO’s Metro Springfield Collective Impact Grant Committee; Ron Kraettli, a retired banker from Hermann and member of the Community Foundation of the Hermann Area Inc.; Susan Krauss, co-owner of Liberty Glass in Perryville and founding member of the Perry County Community Foundation; and Kelly Parson, president of OakStar Bank in Bolivar and president of the Bolivar Area Community Foundation.

The Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce added Addie Ferber as programs and special events manager. She has volunteered for the United Way of the Ozarks Day of Caring and Disney Elementary School PTA. Ferber holds a bachelor’s in broadcasting from Evangel University.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

A Conversation With … Cody Stringer

Bike enthusiast Cody Stringer is betting his bike share nonprofit will lead to a more bike-friendly city.

Most Read Poll
Should Springfield City Council have approved recent applications for historic building designations?

View results