Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Jan. 13-19, 2014

Posted online
Banking & Finance
Nathan Fritz joined the Springfield mortgage office of BancorpSouth as mortgage loan officer. Fritz has 12 years of related experience. recognized Legacy Bank and Trust for the Best Community Bank Checking Account in the nation. Legacy’s I-Profit account received the top honors for offering 4 percent annual percentage yield on balances up to $10,000.

Kenny Gott, executive vice president and financial analyst at Piatchek & Associates, earned the certified financial planner designation. He passed coursework and an exam and met the experience and ethical requirements of the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards Inc.

The Missouri State University Foundation received gifts valued at $8 million. A gift from Bobby Allison will support recreational facilities improvements currently underway at the school; Betty Jeanne Wood Turoff donated 157 acres of timbered land in Greene County to the Darr School of Agriculture; the Jack E. Weimer family made a gift to the Betty and Bobby Allison South Stadium; a gift from the Rosemary Witt estate benefits three funds in the College of Arts and Letters; the Virginia Cox Bussey estate supported the Virginia C. Bussey Scholarship in Music and Musical Theatre; Mike and Karen Hanover funded the Hanover Scholarship for Mathematics; and a donation from Vicki Spoonhour will endow men’s basketball scholarships.

Adria Baebler, who holds a bachelor’s in Spanish from MSU, was selected for an English Teaching Assistantship by the Fulbright U.S. Student Program. Baebler will serve as an English teaching assistant for eight months through November in Uruguay.

Mardie Morton graduated from the seventh Springfield Police Department Lateral Police Academy and was sworn in as an officer. Morton has three years of previous experience.

The Missouri Police Chiefs Association recognized Sen. Bob Dixon, R-Springfield, as its 2013 Senator of the Year for his legislative efforts to promote public safety. Dixon served as handler of House Bill 215, which modified several areas of law regarding the criminal justice system, and he sponsored Senate Bill 20, which extended the Public Safety Officer Surviving Spouse Tax Credit program.

Health Care
Mercy added 12 health care professionals: Drs. David Darmsteadter, Joshua Korosac and Seth Ilgenfritz at Mercy Clinic Emergency Medicine; Dr. Keith Allen at Mercy Clinic Cardiac, Thoracic and Vascular Surgery at Whiteside; Dr. Carolyn Hanger at Mercy Clinic Anesthesia; Dr. Bradley Johnson at Mercy Clinic Ear, Nose and Throat Surgery Center; Dr. Jeremy Onnen at Mercy Clinic Orthopedic Surgery Center; Dr. Eric Jerde at Mercy Clinic Eye Specialists; Dr. Brian Neely as a hospitalist at Mercy Orthopedic Hospital; Dr. Ghulam Siddiqui at Mercy Clinic Gastroenterology at Whiteside; Dr. William Denson at Mercy Clinic OB-GYN at Smith Glynn Callaway; and Dr. Jeremy Broadnax at Mercy Pain Management.

Cox Medical Center Branson clinics were recognized by the Patient-Centered Medical Home 2011 program for using evidence-based, patient-centered processes that focus on coordinated care and long-term relationships.

CoxHealth centers in Branson West and Kimberling City, as well as its family medicine clinics in Branson, received Level 3 certification by the National Committee for Quality Assurance. The clinics are among 82 in Missouri to earn the designation, the highest level offered.

Breast Cancer Foundation of the Ozarks hired Jason Gomez as assistant executive director. Gomez, who previously worked 10 years as marketing and promotions coordinator for Ozarks Technical Community College, is responsible for developing marketing campaigns and promotions for BCFO.

The HOPE Foundation selected its 2014 board members: Lindsay Haymes, president; and Carol Arnold-Anderson, vice president. Supported by the HOPE Sertoma Club, foundation officers continuing their terms are Bruce Helm, secretary; Ryan Jones, treasurer; and Mary Hammerand, family services officer.

Real Estate
Derek Smith joined Affiniti Management as community director for several Blue Block Lofts properties. Smith has 10 years of property management and leasing experience.

The Greater Springfield Board of Realtors elected its 2014 officers: Brian Jared of Murney Associates Realtors, president; Paul Dizmang of Dizmang and Associates, first vice president; Vicki Hutcheson of Coldwell Banker Vanguard, second vice president; Kirk Hewitt of Coldwell Banker Vanguard, secretary; and Sherry Loveland of Murney Associates, treasurer. Directors selected are Twila Hillme of Murney Associates; Betty Knowles of Coldwell Banker Vanguard; Randy Thomas of Keller Williams; Rick Witeka of CJR; Michael Jacques of The Jacques Co.; Jim Stewart of Re/Max Solutions; Angie Mullings of Century 21 Integrity Group; Ed Peterson of Century 21 Peterson Real Estate; and Antonio Serrano of Assist 2 Sell.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: The Tin Ceiling Event Venue and Mercantile

A health care worker became a first-time business owner; a home baker decided to pursue a longtime dream of starting her own business; and Springfield-based Premier Choice Tax and Accounting Solutions LLC expanded its reach in Greene County.

Most Read