Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers in Health Care

Posted online
Dr. Martin S. Tyson and Dr. Pedram Zendehrouh joined Citizens Memorial Healthcare as general surgeons at CMH Surgical Service. Tyson graduated from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey as a doctor of osteopathic medicine. He completed a residency in general surgery at Brooklyn Hospital Center in New York and a fellowship in trauma and critical care at Lehigh Valley Hospital in Allentown, Pa. He is board certified in general surgery and surgical critical care. Zendehrouh earned his medical degree at Temple University School of Medicine and completed a general surgery residency at Yale University School of Medicine. He completed a fellowship in surgical critical care at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center and is board certified in general surgery and surgical critical care.

Bernie Dana, associate professor of business at Evangel University, was honored by the American Health Care Association in December for four years of service as chairman of the board of overseers for AHCA’s National Quality Award Program. The board gives oversight, sets policy and criteria, and leads the judging process for the Quality Award Program, in which nearly 1,000 nursing and assisted living facilities participated in 2010. Dana resigned from his board post and his membership in the association’s Quality Improvement Committee at the end of 2010.

Grant Jones, professor of psychology at Evangel University, led a group of five undergraduate and six graduate students to Nairobi, Kenya, Dec. 29–Jan. 10. The group worked with Kenya Kids orphanage and Mathare Child Development Center, both of which are run by the Assemblies of God. The group held a psychological Vacation Bible School with the theme of overcoming adversity and led small groups in psycho-educational discussions.

Citizens Memorial Healthcare announced its latest roster of medical staff officers, who will serve one-year terms. Dr. D. Shelly Meents is the chief of staff. She is a board-certified obstetrician at Bolivar OB/GYN who joined the CMH staff seven years ago. Dr. J. Gustavo Nix is the vice chief of staff. Nix is an emergency medicine physician at the CMH emergency department and a 25-year member of the CMH staff. Dr. Brent Bartgis is secretary. He is a board-certified general surgeon at CMH Surgical Services and a nine-year member of the CMH staff.

The CoxHealth Stroke Center was named to the American Heart Association and American Stroke Association Target: Stroke Honor Role. CoxHealth is one of only 71 health systems on the list, which recognizes health systems that consistently treat patients who are eligible for tissue plasminogen activator treatment in 60 minutes or less. The drug, tPA, can dissolve blood clots that cause most strokes.

Bolivar resident Jim Friend, 81, received the Senior Service Award from Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder in honor of Friend’s efforts as a Citizens Memorial Healthcare hospice volunteer. The award, which began in 2005, highlights positive accomplishments of Missouri’s senior citizens. Friend became a CMH hospice volunteer in 2008 and has accrued 450 hours of patient bedside time and 309 hours of travel time – and 12,804 miles driven – to see patients.

Eddie Marmouget was chosen as the national industry partner of the BKD National Health Care Group. He joined BKD 20 years ago and was elected partner with the firm in 2001. As the national industry partner, Marmouget serves as the public face of the firm’s national health care group, drives business development efforts and advocates for industry professionals.

William Patton joined St. John’s Clinic-Springfield as vice president of surgery. He earned a bachelor’s in health care administration from Wichita State University and a Master of Health Administration from the University of Kansas and has more than 21 years of experience in health care. Dr. Don Brockman joined St. John’s Clinic-Family Medicine on East Sunshine Street. He earned his medical degree from St. Louis University School of Medicine and completed a residency with Lester E. Cox Medical Centers. Brockman is board-certified in family medicine.

Ted Stutzman joined St. John’s Clinic as vice president of primary care. He has a bachelor’s degree in respiratory therapy from the University of Nebraska, a master’s from Doane College and more than 20 years of experience, including clinic management, home health and convenient care clinics.

Breast Cancer Foundation of the Ozarks named a new slate of officers and added several board members. The officers are: Brian McCracken, Pinnacle Family Advisors, president; Wayne Morelock, Morelock-Ross Cos., president-elect; Greg DeGood, Decker & DeGood PC, treasurer; and Dwight Rahmeyer, Trust Company of the Ozarks. New board members are Dr. Brian Biggers, Crighton, Olive Dunn Surgical Group Inc.; Gary Metzger, Liberty Bank; and Lauren Fulp, Drury University graduate student. BCFO serves breast cancer patients and their families.

Chris Knackstedt was named executive vice president and chief financial officer of St. John’s Health System. A certified public accountant, Knackstedt joined Sisters of Mercy Health System in 2009 as St. John’s senior vice president and CFO and previously served as Mercy’s vice president of new business strategies and CEO of Mercy Health Plans.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
12 People You Need to Know in 2024

Join us on the third Tuesday of each month for a live interview with one of 12 local professionals handpicked by our editorial team.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences