Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Feb. 4-10, 2019

Posted online

Guaranty Bank promoted Steven Hoaglin, a retail banking officer, to marketing research and sales support analyst. He started with the bank in 2010 as a part-time teller.


Morey Mechlin was selected for the 2019 Athena Award for her contributions to the community. Selected by an independent panel of judges through the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce, she formerly served as president of the Junior League of Springfield, executive director of Care to Learn and board director for the chamber. Mechlin will be presented the award during a March 6 luncheon.


SRC Holdings Corp. subsidiary NewStream Enterprises LLC added Brian Heppner as account manager. He is responsible for customer service, order fulfillment, and meeting sales and service objectives for an aftermarket truck parts customer. He previously worked for the SRC family of companies 13 years ago in sales, production and operations.


Missouri State University honored six with the staff Excellence in University Service Award: Mary Barnhart, facilities management; Mary Lynne Golden, provost’s office; Chris Nagle, visual media; MJ Perryman, facilities management; Erica Puckett, admissions on the West Plains campus; and Marianne Stanley, computer services.

MSU also selected A’dja Jones, director of student-athlete development and community relations, and Linda Steinshouer, assistant in the department of social work, for the Excellence in Community Service Award.

The Ozark Board of Education voted unanimously to extend Superintendent Chris Bauman’s contract by three years through the 2021-22 school year. His current contract is for $160,000 and future compensation will be determined at the end of the fiscal year in June. Bauman has been in education for 25 years and was named superintendent in July 2018.


Shelter Insurance Cos. honored Mark Rowe with the 2018 Champion recognition as one of its highest achieving sales representatives based on overall agency operations. Rowe has worked with Shelter since 1999 and has earned the Champion recognition 13 times.


Missouri House Speaker Elijah Haahr, R-Springfield, appointed Curtis Trent, R-Springfield, to chair the subcommittee on appropriations-general administration; Rep. Lynn Morris, R-Nixa, to chair the committee on aging; Rep. Jered Taylor, R-Nixa, to chair the committee on downsizing state government; Rep. Mike Stephens, R-Bolivar, to chair the committee on health and mental health policy; Rep. Jeffery Justus, R-Branson, to chair the special committee on tourism; Rep. Cody Smith, R-Carthage, to chair the committee on budget; and Rep. Hannah Kelly, R-Mountain Grove, to chair the subcommittee on appropriations-agriculture, conservation, natural resources and economic development.

State Sen. Lincoln Hough, R-Springfield, was named vice chair for the Missouri Senate Appropriations Committee. The committee is responsible for holding hearings regarding the state’s annual operating budget and other budgetary matters. He also serves on the economic development, local government and elections, fiscal oversight and ways and means panels.

Health Care

CoxHealth named Chris Wyatt as president of Cox Barton County Hospital in Lamar. He most recently served as CEO of Cavalier County Memorial Hospital and Clinics in North Dakota. He also has worked as director of nuclear medicine at Des Peres Hospital/Tenet Healthcare in St. Louis.


Kevin Scharf joined Lowther Johnson Attorneys at Law LLC as an associate. He previously worked as a social security disability law attorney at Parmele Law Firm PC and obtained his Juris Doctor from the University of Dayton School of Law.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

Coronavirus Coverage

SBJ compiles news on the respiratory virus outbreak.

Most Read