Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Dec. 2-8, 2019

Posted online

The American Institute of Architects recognized Dake Wells Architecture Inc. with five awards in design excellence. The firm received a Merit Award from the AIA Central States for the retail center at Sunshine and National, and four awards from AIA Kansas City: Citation Awards for Hass Darr Hall at Missouri State University-West Plains and the Springfield Underground Command Station; a Merit Award for the Sue Walk Burnett Journalism and Student Media Center at University of Arkansas; and an Honor Award for Reeds Spring Middle School.

Banking and Finance
Central Trust Co. Vice President and Relationship Manager Martha Atkisson was awarded the certified trust and financial adviser designation from the American Bankers Association. Recognizing excellence in wealth and trust management, recipients must attain certain levels of experience and education in the trust profession, pass an exam and agree to abide by a code of ethics. Atkisson has worked with Central Trust since 2009.

Mediacom Communications Corp. was named a 2019 Best Company for Women to Work by Women in Cable Telecommunications. The rankings are based on a survey covering pay equity, advancement opportunities and resources for work-life integration. Mediacom will be recognized for the honor in April 2020 in New York City.

Leanna Hurt of Mettemeyer Engineering LLC passed her professional engineer test. She earned a bachelor’s in civil engineering with a structural emphasis from Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles. Hurt has worked for Mettemeyer since 2015.

Health Care
Dr. David Barbe of Mercy Springfield Communities was elected president-elect of the World Medical Association by delegates from more than 100 countries during the association’s annual convention in Tbilisi, Georgia. The association represents 9 million physicians and addresses health-related human rights, public health policies, environmental impacts on health and augmented intelligence to help doctors make evidence-based health care decisions. Barbe will become president in October 2020.

In the 2020 edition of U.S. News’ Best Law Firms, Neale & Newman LLP received a Tier 1 ranking and Carnahan, Evans, Cantwell & Brown PC received a Tier 2 ranking. Recognized for professional excellence, eligible firms must have a lawyer in The Best Lawyers in America by U.S. News. Out of the 14,931 firms reviewed, 2,106 received a Best Law Firms ranking.

Neil Chanter was elected to serve on the Missouri Appellate Judicial Commission, succeeding Don Woody, whose term expires in December. Chanter is an attorney with Strong, Garner, Bauer PC since 1998.

Debbie Dodge was elected to serve on Greene County’s 31st Circuit Judicial Commission, succeeding Steve Garner, whose term expires in December. Dodge is a trial attorney with Hall Ansley PC since 1994.

Chill-Pak hired Mike Marciniak as director of business development. He has 20 years of experience in temperature-controlled packaging, most recently with Packaging Technology Group Inc. Marciniak works with life sciences, biological and chemical companies for sustainable temperature assurance packaging.

Leggett & Platt Inc. promoted Karl Glassman to chairman of the board, Mitch Dolloff to president and Steve Henderson to executive vice president and president over specialized products and the new furniture, flooring and textile products segment. The promotions are effective Jan. 1, 2020. Glassman will retain his CEO position. Dolloff maintains his position of chief operating officer and will serve as president of the new bedding products segments until a successor is appointed; he also joined the board of directors. Henderson was promoted from vice president and president of Leggett & Platt’s automotive division.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
2023 Trusted Advisers

Springfield Business Journal’s 2023 Trusted Advisers event honors 20 businesspeople.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences