Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: April 22-28, 2019

Posted online

Banking and Finance
Chris Vinton joined Central Bank of Branson’s eight-member board of directors. He is the president and owner of Vinton Commercial Realty and operated the Blue Velvet Theatre for 10 years.

Doug Neff, chairman and CEO of Commerce Bank’s southwest Missouri region, was elected as senior vice president of the holding company and named to its executive management committee. With 28 years of banking experience, he started his career in 1991 with Commerce and in 2013 moved to the Springfield market, where he recently also was named director of community market strategy.

Mark McGehee was named executive director of human resources for Nixa Public Schools, effective July 1. Succeeding the retiring Kathy Whitworth, McGehee is currently the head principal at Nixa High School and has been with the district since 2000. Whitworth has worked 40 years in education, including 16 years in Nixa.

The Ozark School District named Anna Thurman as East Elementary principal and Stacie Wood as Ozark High School assistant principal. Thurman had been assistant principal at South Elementary since 2013 and Wood has been teaching sixth grade English language arts in Ozark since 2004.

The National Speech & Debate Association recognized New Covenant Academy as a charter member, the highest honor from the group. The school has earned more than 50 degrees for outstanding participation in speech and debate competitions, community service and leadership over the last three years.

Missouri State University received the doctoral/professional universities classification from the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. MSU formerly held the master’s colleges and universities classification. The university offers doctoral programs in audiology, nurse anesthesia and nursing practices, educational leadership and pharmacy.

Real Estate
The Greater Springfield Board of Realtors issued its annual awards: Doug Collins of Re/Max House of Brokers, Broker of the Year; Andy Trussell of Murney Associates LLC, Salesperson of the Year; Pamela Long of Pamela Long Appraisal Services, the Margaret Martin Cooperative Spirit Award; Laura Duckworth of HouseKey Flat Fee Realty, Rookie of the Year; Isabelle Jimenez Walker and Todd Thomas of Eagle Management & Realty 1 LLC, the Kirk Hewitt Community Champion Award; Brandee Massey of Keller Williams, Women’s Council of Realtors Member of the Year; Dani Stoddard of Great American Title Co., Affiliate of the Year and WCR Strategic Partner of the Year; and Michael Jacques of The Jacques Co. and Jimenez, the 2018 GSBOR Life Member inductees.

CoStar Group recognized four Springfield firms and eight brokers for its Power Broker Awards. The data and analytics company named SVN/Rankin Co. and Wilhoit Properties Inc. as top leasing firms, and Jared Commercial Real Estate LLC and SVN/Rankin as top sales firms. Mike Fusek of SVN/Rankin was named a top office leasing broker, top retail leasing broker and top sales broker, and Lee McClean of SVN/Rankin was named as a top industrial leasing broker.

Ken Schwab of Wilhoit Properties was named a top office leasing broker and top retail leasing broker. Patrick Harrington of Warren Davis Properties LLC was named a top industrial leasing broker, with David Havens of Jared Commercial rewarded as top sales broker.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
First SBC taproom to debut this summer, officials say

Rogersville venture to lead with Willard’s to follow by early fall.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences