Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe


Posted online
David M. Frohling earned his architect’s license. He has been an architectural intern at GHN Architects Engineers since 2006 and will continue working for the firm as an architect. Frohling is a graduate of Hammons School of Architecture at Drury University.

Lane Braden was named branch manager of Ozark Bank’s Business 14 facility, one of three branches in Ozark. He has worked at Ozark Bank since 1997, most recently as assistant branch manager.

Psychologist Michael Murrell joined Drury University’s behavioral science department as an adjunct professor. He founded Murrell Counseling Service and is an American Psychological Association member.

Ozarks Technical Community College selected new members to lead its board of trustees: J. Howard Fisk, president; Dr. Maryellen Stratmann, vice president; Jacqueline McKinsey, secretary; and Don Clinkenbeard, treasurer.

Evangel University music professor Michael Kolstad received the 2010 Orville and Jewel Mills Young Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award recognizes professors younger than 45. Kolstad earned a bachelor’s in music education from Evangel and master’s and doctoral degrees in trombone performance from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Elizabeth Fletcher, associate professor of business at Evangel, received the E.M. and Estella Clark Award for Excellence in Teaching, Scholarship and Service for 2010. Award recipients are nominated by students, faculty or staff. Fletcher holds a bachelor’s in business administration from Evangel and an MBA from Missouri State University.

Brandon Schmidly, assistant professor of philosophy at Evangel, received his Ph.D. in philosophy from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Schmidly has a bachelor’s in biblical studies from Evangel and a master’s in philosophy from University of Missouri.

Albert Korir received a $35,000 Cottrell College Science Award grant to be used for research involving undergraduate science majors at Drury University. Korir, an assistant professor of chemistry and selected students will be developing and improving methods used to study complex sugars, specifically heparin, which could lead to the design of new drugs.

Dustin Q. Branscomb was promoted to project engineer at GeoEngineers’ Springfield office. He specializes in horizontal directional drilling design, HDD construction observation, project management and feasibility studies for natural gas and product pipeline projects. Branscomb has a bachelor’s in civil engineering from California Polytechnic State University.

The Springfield Convention and Visitors Bureau was named Industry Supplier of the Year by the Missouri Hotel and Lodging Association. The award recognizes an active participant in the Missouri hospitality industry for its reputation as a service provider.

Michael Greenlee, an adviser in Ollis and Co.’s employee benefits department, was recognized by 1st Choice Employee Benefit Solutions as a Top Producer in 2009.
Financial adviser John T. Piatchek, founder and president of Piatchek and Associates, qualified for membership on the 2010 Million Dollar Round Table, which recognizes the top 5 percent of financial representatives around the world. This 2010 membership is Piatchek’s 38th consecutive year on the Round Table.

Robin Lawrence joined Nixon & Lindstrom Insurance as employee benefits and customer service associate. With 13 years of experience in client services, Lawrence manages group health and benefit plans.

LCS Kleen-Aire received a 2009 safety award from the HVAC Inspection, Maintenance and Restoration Association for LCS’ safety and health program results. 

Robb Woolsey was named public sector account representative at Sprint. Woolsey has more than 10 years of experience working with governments and schools in southwest Missouri.

Four Prime Inc. employees were recognized for their safe driving records. Julius Bradley has driven 2 million miles without an accident; Anthony McNabb has driven seven years at Prime without a preventable accident; and James F. Daniel and Michael E. Farris have driven for Prime for three consecutive years without preventable accidents and for a previous carrier for four years without preventable accidents.
[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: Modern Outdoor Tackle

Fishing retail shop Modern Outdoor Tackle moved; Healthy Spot LLC opened; and Springfield law firm Strong, Garner & Bauer PC changed names and moved its office.

Most Read Poll
Do you plan to make a charitable donation by year's end?


View results

Update cookies preferences