Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe


Posted online
Springfield Public Schools
earned a 2010–11 Distinction in Performance Award from the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education. The award measures 14 performance standards in academic performance and progress in areas measured by the state’s accreditation standards. SPS met 13 out of 14 standards.

Thomas Allen, Robert Flanders, Charles Hedrick, the late David Heinlein and Reba Sims were inducted into the Missouri State University Board of Governors’ 2010 Wall of Fame Class. The board also recognized Karen Horny, emeritus dean of library services, with the Award of Appreciation; David Foley with the Outstanding Young Alumni Award; and Arthur Hurtado with the Outstanding Alumni Award. Bill and Virginia Darr received the Lifetime Achievement Award. Jason Hackmann received the alumni award for excellence in public affairs.

Debbie Jatho was promoted to assistant vice president and branch manager of Commerce Bank’s Kansas Expressway Banking Center. A 19-year Commerce veteran, she manages the branch’s retail sales and customer service.

Amy Steele was promoted to retail banking officer and branch manager at Commerce Bank’s MSU banking center. Steele manages retail sales and customer service at the campus branch.

Ben Volner joined SMI Group of BancorpSouth Insurance Service as a full-time commercial risk adviser. He earned a business degree from Drury University and has 16 years of experience in insurance.

Mike Cherry, president and CEO of Consumer Credit Counseling of Springfield, was elected chairman of the operating committee of Washington, D.C.-based National Foundation for Credit Counseling. He has served on the committee for the last five years.

Ozark Bank promoted Nathan Toliver to branch manager of its Business 14 branch. Toliver is a graduate of Ozarks Technical Community College and has worked for Ozark Bank since 2006.

Health Care
Dr. David True joined Ferrell-Duncan clinic as a rheumatologist. He attended medical school at the University of North Texas Health Science Center in Fort Worth, Texas, and completed his internship, residency and fellowship in rheumatology at the San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium.

Dr. Valerie Pruitt joined Ferrell-Duncan Clinic as a surgeon. She attended medical school at the University of Louisville, and completed her residency in general surgery at Keesler Medical Center and her fellowship in trauma and surgical critical care at the University of Texas Health Science Center.

Matthew Massey was promoted to operations manager of Southern Missouri Containers. Massey manages the shipping and design departments, customer service and purchasing. He has a Master of Business Administration and bachelor’s degree from Drury.

U.S. Sen. Christopher Bond, R-Mo., received the National Association of Manufacturers Award for Manufacturing Legislative Excellence. The award recognized the senator’s 85-percent key vote rating in support of manufacturers and their employees.

Springfield Cardinals promoted Dan Reiter to director of sales and marketing from manager of corporate partnerships. Reiter, who has worked for the Cardinals since its inaugural season, manages ticket and corporate sales, marketing and stadium entertainment.  
Real Estate
Judy Huntsman, president of Coldwell Banker Vanguard Realtors, attended Coldwell Banker’s annual Regional Advisory Council meeting in Parsippany, N.J. Huntsman was one of 14 from across the U.S. to participate.

Brigitte Marrs, director of alumni and development at Drury, was named to the board of directors for Girl Scouts of the Missouri Heartland. She holds a bachelor’s from Drury and a master’s in education from Lincoln University.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Home construction companies merge to launch new venture

Alair Springfield is first Missouri franchise for Canada-based company.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences