Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe


Posted online
Travis Tindall, project manager for Jennifer Wilson Architect LLC, passed the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards architecture licensure exam. Candidates must complete a three-year intern development program.

Dake Wells Architecture received several 2010 design awards from various chapters of the American Institute of Architects. Its Exeter Schools project received three Honor awards; its Stoutland Schools design received an Honor Award; and its Missouri State University Level 1 Game Center received merit awards.

Southwest Baptist University mathematics department Chairman Kevin Hopkins received the Post-Secondary Outstanding Teacher Award for 2010 at a conference held by the Missouri Council of Teachers of Mathematics. He also presented an abstract on Web-based software that can assist in illustrating topics in pre-calculus.

Stephanie Hein, assistant department head and assistant professor of hospitality and restaurant administration at MSU, was elected to the board of directors of the Association of Hospitality Financial Management Educators.

Gov. Jay Nixon appointed Susie Knust, of Marshfield, as northern commissioner of Webster County. Knust, a Democrat, is a former banker and college English instructor, and currently owns Birch Creek Publishing LLC and Knust Shorthorns LLC, a registered cattle business. The position became vacant after Lyndall Fraker was elected as a state representative for the 145th District in November.

The Ozarks Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation named 12 new members to its Executive Leadership Council: Chairwoman Jessica Hickok, vice president of Dizmang Properties; Vice Chairwoman Kristy Horton, CEO of Millwood Golf & Racquet Club; Julie Rowden, secretary for the foundation; Brian Roy, vice president of BancorpSouth; Eric Rowden, president of Sunrise Communication Inc.; Tom Eubanks, sales associate at ADT Security Services; Hillary Garvin, account executive for Uvanta Pharmacy; Diane King, owner of Springfield/Route 66 KOA Campground; Suzanne Brown, outreach coordinator for the foundation; Bill Dern, director of purchasing for Hilton Hotels of Branson; Henry Irvin, Walgreens Pharmacy manager; and Steve Guffey, principal of the Newburg School District.

Real Estate
Jan O’Rear was named broker/sales manager for Carol Jones Realtors’ Nixa branch office after eight years as a sales agent with the company. O’Rear is a past president of the Women’s Council of Realtors and, among other professional designations, is a certified residential specialist.

Bug Zero Inc. manager Michael Woodring was elected to the board of directors of the Missouri Pest Management Association. Woodring has worked for Bug Zero for more than 11 years.

The Branson KOA campground received the 2010 KOA President’s and Founder’s awards by Kampgrounds of America for high scores in customer service and quality reviews.

Allen Kunkel, MSU associate vice president for economic development and Jordan Valley Innovation Center director, received a $71,000 award from Missouri Technology Corp. The grant is used to create and retain jobs in the Springfield area through scientific and technology-based research, and to develop commercial applications.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Open for Business: Finley River Chiropractic

Adrianna Norris became a first-time business owner with the opening of Finley River Chiropractic; PaPPo’s Pizzeria & Pub launched its newest location; and Huey Magoo’s opened its second store in the Ozarks.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences