Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

MSU projects, others honored by architecture industry group

Posted online

The Springfield chapter of the American Institute of Architects honored 10 projects, including two at Missouri State University, during the group’s design awards last week.

The project design firms were recognized Dec. 7 at downtown’s Randy Bacon Photography Inc. Honorees were chosen by a mix of professional and public judges, according to the awards booklet handed out at the event.

The projects are in the areas of education, government, hospitality, nonprofit and residential.

MSU’s renovation of its Ellis Hall auditorium was the only project to receive awards from both sets of judges. The project, designed by St. Louis-based Patterhn Ives LLC and constructed by Carson-Mitchell Inc., received the honor award from the professional jury and the public recognition award from the public jury. Springfield Business Journal previously reported the cost of the renovation at $7.6 million.

“The project deserved the award for its intelligent re-use of existing structures, the utility and efficiency of spaces, and the careful implementation of energy savings systems,” the public judges’ comments read. “The design achieved also a distinct elegant atmosphere, quite appropriate for the character of the institution.”

The public judges also selected MSU’s $33.8 million renovation and expansion of Glass Hall for the public recognition award. Designed by Minneapolis-based Perkins & Will Inc. and Dake Wells Architecture Inc., the project was constructed by Dewitt & Associates Inc.

Ellis and Glass halls contributed to MSU recently receiving the Developer of the Year award from the Springfield Contractors Association during the annual Salute to Design and Construction awards banquet in November.

The other honorees, along with their owners, architects and general contractors, are listed below in alphabetical order.

Black & Tan House, public recognition award, public jury
Owner: Cory and Kerry Watts
Architect: Dake Wells Architecture Inc.
General contractor: Kenson Goff Homes LLC

Case study residence, merit award, professional jury
Owner: Cody and Erin Danastasio
Architect: Arkifex Studios LLC
General contractor: Ramsey Building Co.

Glade residence, public recognition award, public jury
Owner: Kurt and Sherry Hellweg
Architect: Arkifex Studios
General contractor: Ramsey Building Co.

Good Samaritan Boys Ranch transitional services offices and housing, unbuilt award, professional jury
Owner: Good Samaritan Boys Ranch
Architect: Arkifex Studios
General contractor: Morelock Builders & Associates Inc.

Hotel Vandivort, public recognition award, public jury
Owner: MBH LLC
Architect: BatesForum LLC
General contractor: Larry Snyder and Co.

Joplin Public Library, honorable mention, professional jury
Owner: Joplin Public Library
Architect: Sapp Design Associates Architects PC
General contractor: R.E. Smith Construction Co.

Macks Creek Elementary School, merit award, professional jury
Owner: Macks Creek R-5 School District
Architect: Dake Wells Architecture Inc.
General contractor: Westport Construction Co. (Clinton)

Neosho Junior High School, public recognition award, public jury
Owner: Neosho School District
Architect: Sapp Design Associates Architects
General contractor: Branco Enterprises Inc.

The projects were judged by a professional panel comprising John Dwyer, principal at Dwyer Oglesbay Architects; Jennifer Newsom, principal of Dream The Combine; and  Joan Soranno, vice president and design principal of HGA in Minneapolis. All three hail from Minneapolis.

The public judges were:
    •    Annie Busch, retired executive director, Springfield-Greene County Library;
    •    Leslie Forrester, executive director, Springfield Regional Arts Council;
    •    Ryan Mooney, senior vice president of economic development, Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce;
    •    John Moore, retired president, Drury University; and
    •    Eric Olson, editorial director, SBJ.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

A Conversation With … Cody Stringer

Bike enthusiast Cody Stringer is betting his bike share nonprofit will lead to a more bike-friendly city.

Most Read Poll
Should Springfield City Council have approved recent applications for historic building designations?

View results