Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Carrie Tergin, left, will become chairwoman and Gabriel Gore will become vice chairman of the MSU Board of Governors on Jan. 1.
Photos provided by Missouri State University
Carrie Tergin, left, will become chairwoman and Gabriel Gore will become vice chairman of the MSU Board of Governors on Jan. 1.

MSU elects new board, foundation officers

Posted online

The Missouri State University Board of Governors and the school’s fundraising arm separately voted in new officers during recent meetings.

Board of governors
The board’s new chairwoman and vice chairman are slated to start their terms Jan. 1. Both live outside of Springfield, according to a news release.

Jefferson City Mayor Carrie Tergin, who also owns Carrie’s Hallmark Shop, will move up from vice chairwoman to succeed Husch Blackwell LLP partner Virginia Fry. An attorney in the company’s Springfield office, Fry was elected in April after a leadership change-up enacted by Gov. Eric Greitens. The action marked the first time MSU’s board had ever been led by two women.

Taking over as vice chair for Tergin is Gabriel Gore, a partner in the St. Louis law firm of Dowd Bennett LLP and a former assistant U.S. attorney for the Eastern District of Missouri.

The board also voted to retain MSU Chief Financial Officer Steve Foucart as treasurer and Kristan Gochenauer as secretary, according to the release.

The MSU Board of Governors’ member roster also includes Amy Counts, Beverly Miller, Gregory Spears, Kendall Seal, Craig Frazier, Carol Silvey and Tyree Davis.

MSU Foundation
After positing its second-highest fundraising total of $19.5 million for the fiscal year that ended June 30, the MSU Foundation Board of Trustees this month chose new leaders.

The board elected Med-Pay Inc. owner Gordon Kinne as chairman and Carmichael & Neal PC co-owner Joseph Carmichael as vice chairman, according to a news release.

The foundation also added businessmen Mark McQueary and James Wilson as executive committee members and several new trustees:
    •    James Bass, of Tulsa Oklahoma;
    •    Margaret Burd, of Denver;
    •    Kevin Elliott, of Frisco, Texas;
    •    Marla Elliott, also of Frisco;
    •    Ryan Gamble, of Lenexa, Kansas;
    •    Paula Hartsfield, of Jefferson City;
    •    Kyle Moles, of Chicago;
    •    Michael Oldham, of Golden, Colorado; and
    •    Toni Riccardi, of Chicago.

The board has more than 80 executive committee members and trustees.

Bronze Bear
The MSU Board of Governors also voted during its Oct. 27 meeting to award the annual Bronze Bear to Paul Durham.

A professor of cell biology at MSU, Durham has helped lead the development and expansion of the Center for Biomedical and Life Sciences at Jordan Valley Innovation Center; served as an invited speaker 75 times; gained some $14 million in external grants to support his research; and authored or co-authored 80 peer-reviewed publications, according to a news release.

Durham is scheduled to receive the award — honoring those who have exhibited outstanding achievement or support for the school — during a Dec. 15 commencement ceremony at JQH Arena.

MSU last year presented the award to philanthropist Bobby Allison.

Created in 1998, the Bronze Bear award is patterned after the 14-foot statue version in front of MSU's Plaster Student Union.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

Open for Business: Interpres Building Solutions LLC

Interpres Building Solutions LLC gave former Springfield Fire Station No. 6 new life; Crave Cookie Dough added a south-side store; and Kansas-based Artistic Works by Lu LLC opened a brick-and-mortar shop.

Most Read Poll
Which bank holds your deposits?

View results