Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Judges name SBJ's Economic Impact Award finalists

Posted online
An independent panel of judges has selected the 2009 finalists for Springfield Business Journal's Economic Impact Awards and named Patti Penny of Penmac Personnel Services this year's Lifetime Achievement in Business honoree.

This year's categories are home health care, manufacturing, private education, nonprofit organizations, Innovator of the Year and Entrepreneur of the Year.

Listed in alphabetical order, the 2009 Economic Impact Award finalists are:

• Citizens Memorial Healthcare's home care services; Integrity Home Care; and Oxford HealthCare in the home health care category;

• Jack Henry & Associates Inc.; Jarden Plastic Solutions; and 3M in the manufacturing category;

• Drury University; Southwest Baptist University; and Springfield Catholic Schools in the private education category;

• Ozarks Area Community Action Corp.; Ozarks Food Harvest; and The Kitchen Inc. in the nonprofit category;

• Integrity Home Care's pharmacy and Kuat Innovations in the Innovator of the Year category; and

• The Supply Shop Inc. and Killuminati Foundation in the Entrepreneur of the Year category.

Patti Penny, Penmac's owner and founder, is the first woman recipient of SBJ's Lifetime Achievement in Business Award. Penmac is a regional human resources and temporary employment firm with more than 40 offices in six states. Penny was named one of Enterprising Women Magazine's Enterprising Women of the Year in 2008. She also received a Missourian Award in 2006 and was one of SBJ's Most Influential Women in 2000.

This year's Economic Impact Awards judges are Andy Lear, chairman of the Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce and partner with BKD LLP; Brent Jones, lender relations specialist and brand manager with the U.S. Small Business Administration Springfield branch office; Barbara Bettlach, co-owner of Harter House grocery stores in Springfield; Lisa Crump, market conduct administrator with American National Property & Casualty Co.; and Joe Tucker, certified public accountant and principal shareholder of Tucker & Co. PC.

Economic Impact Award honorees will be revealed during a July 23 banquet at the Ramada Oasis Convention Center, 2546 N. Glenstone Ave. Tickets to the event are $60 apiece and are available at the link below.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

CEO Roundtable: Tourism

Edd Akers, Rick Huffman, Tracy Kimberlin and April McDonough participate in the discussion.

Most Read Poll
What’s your convenience store of choice?

View results