Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Erlen Group named Developer of the Year by SCA

Posted online

The Springfield Contractors Association tonight honored Springfield Underground owner Erlen Group as Developer of the Year.

Recognized for more than $24.5 million in projects over the past year, Erlen Group earned the honor during the Salute to Design and Construction awards banquet at Oasis Hotel & Convention Center. Roughly 500 people were in attendance.

Erlen Group constructed offices, warehouse space and a command station at Springfield Underground, and completed infill work at the Frisco office building at Chestnut Expressway and U.S. Highway 65.

“It’s a real honor to be awarded this,” Erlen Group President and CEO John Griesemer said prior to the event. “I’d take it every year.”

Erlen Group was created in September 2018 as a corporate umbrella for Springfield Underground Inc. Griesemer said the corporation was designed to more efficiently run the Springfield Underground brands. He took over the family business as president and CEO at the start of 2018, succeeding his uncle, Louis Griesemer, who retired, according to Springfield Business Journal archives.

In addition to Springfield Underground and the Frisco building, Erlen Group owns and operates Westside Stone LLC, Joplin Stone Co., Cold Zone and Umlaut Industrial.

Another large group was spotlighted at the SCA event, as collaborators behind a $16 million project for Willard Public Schools was named the Design Team of the Year.

Recognized for the 70,000-square-foot Willard Intermediate School-South were:
• owner Willard Public Schools;
• construction manager J.E. Dunn Construction Co.;
• architect and interior designer Paragon Architecture LLC;
• engineers Toth & Associates Inc., RTM Engineering Consultants LLC, Terracon Consultants Inc.; and
• kitchen equipment consulting and design company, Fellers Food Service Equipment LLC.

The Willard project team was selected among three project finalists: Volt Credit Union and Zimmerman Corporate LLC, both designed by Buxon Kubik Dodd Design Collective.

Additionally, the SCA event included some individual honors, as the Salute to Design and Construction Council recognized three longtime professionals with its Lifetime Achievement Award: Dean Hartman of Hartman & Co. Inc.; Cliff Kennedy, retired from Kennedy Contractors Inc.; and Fred Palmerton, retired from Palmerton & Parrish Inc.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Home construction companies merge to launch new venture

Alair Springfield is first Missouri franchise for Canada-based company.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences