Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Oct. 24-30, 2022

Posted online

Banking & Finance
Guaranty Bank hired Eric McGuire as a consumer lender and underwriter. He’s worked 15 years in banking, most recently as a mortgage loan officer, but also has experience in branch management, loan underwriting, originating and compliance.

Brian Bennett joined Commerce Bank as a vice president and commercial relationship manager. He previously held leadership positions in hospitality and golf management, and holds a bachelor’s in finance from Missouri State University.

Old Missouri Bank received a 2022 Brand Slam award in the website redesign category from the American Bankers Association. The bank’s marketing team worked with Springfield agency Mostly Serious LLC for nearly 18 months before relaunching this summer. They were honored during the ABA’s Bank Marketing Conference in Denver.

Jessica Passeri and Debbie King, office administrators for Edward Jones financial adviser Peter Lai, were invited to attend the Branch Office Administrators Managing Partners Conference in St. Louis. Team members from 400 Edward Jones branches, out of over 15,000, qualified to attend.

Lilly Endowment Inc. awarded a $5 million grant to Evangel University’s Assemblies of God Theological Seminary to develop and expand affordable and adaptable training for ministers. Representing one of the largest gifts in the university’s history, Evangel was selected among 16 theological schools in Lilly Endowment’s Pathways for Tomorrow Initiative.

Springfield Regional Arts Council Inc. added three board members: Mike Holmes, a program director and morning show host for Mid-West Family Broadcasting; Eric Olson, editorial vice president-external relations for Springfield Business Journal; and Kevin Waterland, co-owner and general manager of Pitt Technology Group LLC. The board’s 2022-23 executive committee comprises President Megan Buchbinder, Vice President Jim Bultas, Secretary Courtney Pinkham-Martin, Treasurer Kayla Bell, Immediate Past President Corey Kilburn and member-at-large Jann Holland.

Real Estate
Murney Associates, Realtors broker Brian R. Jared, of Rogersville, was elected 2024 treasurer for Missouri Realtors. A licensed Realtor for 22 years, he’s served as president of the Greater Springfield Board of Realtors and received Salesperson of the Year awards from the local and state associations. Missouri Realtors represents over 25,000 members statewide.

Three real estate agents in southwest Missouri received statewide association awards during the Missouri Realtors Fall Business Conference: Melissa Annis, of Webb City, Salesperson of the Year; Brent Sager, of Hollister, the Elizabeth J. Mendenhall E3 Award; and Deana Wolfe, of Galena, the Bruce Aydt Code of Ethics Leadership Award. Annis serves as a state legislative coordinator and state director for Missouri Realtors and chairs the Commercial Output Group. She previously was president of the Ozark Gateway Association of Realtors. A licensed Realtor since 2012, Sager also has been named Realtor of the Year and Rookie of the Year by the Tri-Lakes Board of Realtors, and he currently chairs Missouri Realtors Advocacy Committee. With 33 years of industry experience, Wolfe also has received Missouri Realtors’ R. Layne Morrill Award for legislative advocacy, and she previously served as president of the Tri-Lakes Board of Realtors and as state president for the Women’s Council of Realtors.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
A Conversation With ... Dennis McDonald

SBJ interviews Evangel University's director of athletics.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences