Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe


Posted online
John Scroggins, Noble’s director of integrated communications, was elected to serve as treasurer for the International Foodservice Editorial Conference by the organization’s board of directors.

Ronald Baird and John Lightner, partners with Baird, Lightner, Millsap & Harpool PC, were named to the list of 2011 Super Lawyers in Missouri and Kansas. No more than 5 percent of lawyers practicing in those states are included in the annual publication.

Southwest Baptist University Professor of Physical Education Linda Wooderson received the Robert M. Taylor Professional Service Honor Award from the Missouri Association for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance. Wooderson connected the association’s membership with the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education to improve Praxis scores in physical education across Missouri.

Forsyth High School received the state’s A+ Schools designation, which allows students to receive two years of free tuition and academic fees at Missouri’s community colleges.

Health Care
The House of Representatives presented Cox HealthPlans with a resolution recognizing its Integrated Healthcare Management Award in the Operational Excellence category from the TriZetto Group.

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services recognized Sisters of Mercy Health System for completing its fifth year in the Medicare Physician Group Practice Demonstration Project. In the last year, the hospital system achieved 100 percent performance on the project’s 32 quality measures and saved more than $3.3 million in taxpayer funds by reducing costs to Medicare through quality improvement strategies and redesigning care.

The Symposium on Advanced Wound Care recognized St. John’s Medical Research Institute with national awards for the development of anti-microbial properties in its alcohol-free hand sanitizer Hands First and for its work examining whether clinical bacteria samples showed signs of silver-resistance similar to other drug resistances.

Helen Brumitt, senior general services technician for the Southwest District of the Missouri Department of Transportation, was the 2011 Region 13 winner of the Missouri Outstanding Older Worker Contest.

CU Community Credit Union promoted Tanja Kern to vice president of marketing. Kern, who joined the credit union staff in 2010, manages marketing and branding strategies.

The Missouri Beef Industry Council named Aurora farmer Glen Cope as its secretary and appointed Jason McCann, of Miller, to its board of directors. McCann is Missouri Cattlemen’s Association’s past-president and has served on its board since 2005.

Click here to submit Newsmakers for consideration.[[In-content Ad]]


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick
Business Spotlight: Cake, Meet Franchise

A Dallas couple follow their bakery franchise dreams to Springfield, and now a Joplin store is on the way.

Most Read
Update cookies preferences