Springfield, MO

Log in Subscribe

Newsmakers: Oct. 9-15, 2017

Posted online

The Payroll Co. promoted Brianna Hartman to its tax department, working directly with associates and TPC’s partner company, Kollmeyer & Co. LLC. She worked for TPC as a part-time intern during her junior and senior years of college.

Economic Development
Springfield Area Chamber of Commerce hired Jennifer McClure as vice president of strategic communications and Jen Moore as membership services coordinator. McClure has 20 years of experience managing communications and government relations, and Moore previously served as Drury’s financial aid coordinator. The Springfield chamber also promoted Dori Grinder to vice president of membership development. She previously worked as membership development manager.

Education ranked two of Drury University’s online bachelor’s degree programs on its list of the 25 most affordable in the nation. The school’s health services management program was No. 21 and its human services degree program was No. 25.

Health Care
Alps Specialty Pharmacy was accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Health Care for the services of a specialty pharmacy. Accreditation recognizes compliance with national standards and commitment to a higher level of performance and patient care.

U.S. Sen. Roy Blunt, R-Missouri, received the Congressional Champion Award from nonprofit UsAgainstAlzheimer’s. As chairman of the Senate appropriations subcommittee that funds the National Institutes of Health, Blunt worked to obtain an additional $350 million for Alzheimer’s research through NIH.

UsAgainstAlzheimer’s also honored Springfieldian Daisy Duarte with the 2017 Bea Lerner Valor Award for care of her mother and national advocacy of dementia care. The award is given to those who have shown determination and fearlessness in combatting the illness.

Bryan Ebbrecht
joined Mid-West Family Broadcasting’s 105.1 The Bull as a part-time air personality. A native of Maine, he originally came to Springfield to study broadcasting at Evangel University.

Erin Hayes, professor for journalism and media studies at College of the Ozarks and former ABC World News correspondent, was inducted into The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Silver Circle. Honorees are recognized for their innovation, passion, creativity and commitment to the industry.

Seven local businesspeople were named 2017 Missourian Award winners: Jacqueline Dowdy, CEO of John Q. Hammons Hotels & Resorts; Dr. Keesag Baron,  owner of Baron Cardiology Group PC; Steve Edwards, president and CEO of CoxHealth; Bob Helm, managing partner of Elliott, Robinson & Co. LLP; Hal Higdon, chancellor of Ozarks Technical Community College; Kerri Miller, founder and president of Make People Better LLC; and Jim Thomas, Branson entrepreneur.

Real Estate
Isabelle Jimenez Walker
, owner and broker at Eagle Management & Realty 1 LLC, completed the 2016-17 Missouri Realtors Leadership Academy. Missouri Realtors annually selects 12 real estate agents for the program. Walker received a certificate at the association’s September business conference in St. Louis.


No comments on this story |
Please log in to add your comment
Editors' Pick

Business Spotlight: Hit the Highway

Following a business surge through acquisitions, Wilson Logistics plans to build a $7 million terminal in Strafford.

Most Read