Derek Smith, David Taylor and Christy Yoakum were promoted to senior managers at BKD LLP. Smith, a member of the firm’s construction and real estate group, received his bachelor’s in accounting and business administration and a master’s in accounting from Truman State University. Taylor and Yoakum are both members of BKD’s health care group. Taylor received bachelor’s degrees in accounting, economics, computer information systems and business administration from Drury University, and Yoakum earned bachelor’s and master’s degrees in accounting from Missouri State University.

The Missouri Colleges Fund received $55,200 in contributions to underwrite need-based scholarships at its 16 member schools, including Drury, Evangel and Southwest Baptist universities. For students attaining business related degrees, Enterprise Holdings Foundation contributed $15,200 and Wells Fargo Advisors offered $24,000. Emerson provided $16,000 for science and math scholarships.

Evangel University professor Bryan Sanders was elected treasurer of the Greene County Historical Society. Sanders, an Evangel faculty member since 1990, serves as chairman of the school’s social sciences department.

The MSU Ad Team marketing department was awarded second place in the U.S. Medical Reserve Corps Branding and Recruitment Challenge. The team included five presenters: Dan Acheson, senior public relations major; Madison Hrdlicka, senior public relations major; and graduate students Sean Morrow, Brian Neyer and Charles Pack.

Kari Reynolds joined Environmental Works Inc. as an associate scientist in the company’s assessment and compliance department. Reynolds previously worked at City Utilities as the water analyst cooperative intern. She earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in biology from MSU.

Springfield Public Works Director Phil Broyles was named to the American Public Works Association’s National Top Ten Public Works Leaders of the Year. APWA annually recognizes 10 of the most outstanding public works professionals from across the U.S. and Canada. Broyles worked for the Missouri Department of Transportation 30 years before joining the city’s staff 11 years ago as assistant director of Public Works.

Health Care
Rod Smith, store director of the Price Cutter store at 4228 S. National Ave., was awarded the Missouri Rehabilitation Association’s Employer of the Year Award. Smith has provided jobs for individuals with disabilities and mentored them on work skills such as customer service.

Mercy Hospital received The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval for its hip and knee replacement programs. The award recognizes Mercy Hospital-Springfield’s compliance with the Joint Commission’s standards.

Dr. Kenneth Fattmann was named medical director for Skaggs Hospital’s Senior Transitions Unit. Fattmann has provided psychiatry services for facilities including Cox Medical Center and the U.S. Medical Center for Federal Prisoners in Springfield, Citizen’s Memorial hospital in Bolivar, and Munson Army Health Center in Ft. Leavenworth, Kan. He attended Uniform Services University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda, Md.

Victory Trade School President Victoria Queen was named a finalist in the National Restaurant Association’s 2012 Faces of Diversity Awards.